The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

2023 SEC Men's Tennis Awards Announced

214 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: SEC

Birmingham, Ala. - The Southeastern Conference announced the 2023 men's tennis postseason awards Friday.

Georgia's Manuel Diaz was named SEC Coach of the Year for the seventh time. Diaz is in his 35th season as the head coach of the Bulldogs. He is the SEC's all-time winningest coach with 764 career victories. Georgia is currently 20-6 overall and ended the conference season 12-0. The team won the SEC title and was runner-up at the SEC Tournament.

Currently ranked as the No. 5 singles player in the country, Tennessee's Johannus Monday was named SEC Player of the Year. Monday, a two-time ITA Singles All-American, was a combined 34-5 in dual singles and doubles matches this spring entering the postseason. At 17-2 in singles and 17-3 on the doubles courts, 28 of those 34 total victories are at the No. 1 lineup spot (14-2 at No. 1 singles and 14-3 at No. 1 doubles). Each of Monday's SEC matches have been played at the No. 1 singles and doubles lineup positions, logging a 9-1 SEC mark at No. 1 singles and a 7-2 SEC record atop the doubles lineup. Monday was 14-3 at No. 1 doubles during the regular season, with each of those appearances at No. 1 coming with Pat Harper.

SEC Freshman of the Year was awarded to Georgia's Ethan Quinn. He finished the year 23-10, 10-1 against SEC competition in singles with a team-best 15 ranked wins. Ten of his 13 dual match wins came in straight sets. He began the season as the No. 1 player in the country and never left the top-5 throughout season. He currently is ranked No. 3. He played all dual matches on court one, earning 13 wins, the most of any freshman in SEC. He ended the regular season with a six-match win streak. In doubles, Quinn peaked in the rankings at No. 5 with Trent Bryde. Quinn and Bryde led Georgia in dual match wins with 12, including eight against ranked opponents, all from court one.

First-team and second-team All-SEC honorees, All-Freshman team, along with Player, Coach and Freshman of the Year were chosen by the league's 13 coaches. Coaches cannot vote for their own players and ties are not broken.

A complete list of the awards follows.

First Team All-SEC
 Tyler Stice, Auburn
 Axel Nefve, Florida
 Trent Bryde, Georgia
 Philip Henning, Georgia
 Ethan Quinn, Georgia
 Alafia Ayeni, Kentucky
 Liam Draxl, Kentucky
 Joshua Lapadat, Kentucky
 Toby Samuel, South Carolina
 Connor Thomson, South Carolina
Emile Hudd, Tennessee
 Johannus Monday, Tennessee
 Noah Schachter, Texas A&M
 Raphael Perot, Texas A&M
Second Team All-SEC
 Filip Planinsek, Alabama
 Jonah Braswell, Florida
 Will Grant, Florida
 Blake Croyder, Georgia
 Taha Baadi, Kentucky
 Ronald Hohmann, LSU
 John Hallquist Lithén, Ole Miss
 Nikola Slavic, Ole Miss
 Carles Hernandez, Mississippi State
 Ewen Lumsden, Mississippi State
 Nemanja Malesevic, Mississippi State
 James Story, South Carolina
 Shunsuke Mitsui, Tennessee
 Matias Ponce De Leon, Alabama
 Billy Blaydes, Auburn
 Alejandro Moreno, Auburn
 Jonah Braswell, Florida
 Ethan Quinn, Georgia
 Jaden Weekes, Kentucky
 Petar Jovanovic, Mississippi State
 Nathan Cox, Vanderbilt
Player of the Year
 Johannus Monday, Tennessee
Freshman of the Year
 Ethan Quinn, Georgia
Coach of the Year
 Manuel Diaz, Georgia