The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

2023 SEC Women's Tennis Awards Announced

214 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: SEC

Birmingham, Ala. - The Southeastern Conference announced the 2023 women's tennis postseason awards Thursday.

Tennessee's Alison Ojeda and Texas A&M's Mark Weaver were named SEC Co-Coaches of the Year. Ojeda is in her seventh season as head coach of the Lady Vols. UT has an overall record of 19-5 and a conference record of 11-2. Weaver is in his eighth year as the head coach of the Aggies. TAMU is currently 27-2 overall and ended the conference season 13-0 for the second consecutive year. The team won the SEC Championship title and was runner up at the SEC Tournament.

Currently ranked as the No. 2 singles player in the country Texas A&M's Mary Stoiana was named SEC Player of the Year. She recorded the best dual match singles record for the Aggies at 21-2 with a 11-0 conference record. She ended the regular season on a 14-match win streak in singles and a 16-match win streak in doubles. She was a perfect 16-0 when playing court 1 singles. In doubles, she was also a perfect 16-0 with two partners (8-0 court 1, 8-0 court 2).

SEC Freshman of the Year was awarded to Arkansas' Carolina Gomez Alonso. She posted a 12-5 dual singles record (19-6 overall), primarily competing at the No. 2 position for the Razorbacks where she went 8-5. Against ranked opponents, Gomez Alonso went 3-5, including a ranked win over Auburn's No. 46 Arsenault to help secure the upset over then-No.12 Auburn. She earned SEC Freshman of the Week honors twice, after clinching wins over Baylor and Alabama. In doubles, she went 11-6 with partner Kelly Keller helping to secure the doubles point for the Hogs in its last four matches to end the season on a four-match win streak.

First-team and second-team All-SEC honorees, All-Freshman team, along with Player, Coach and Freshman of the Year were chosen by the league's 14 coaches. Coaches cannot vote for their own team or players and ties are not broken.

A complete list of the awards follows.

First Team All-SEC
 Carolyn Ansari, Auburn
 Sara Dahlstrom, Florida
 Lea Ma, Georgia
 Dasha Vidmanova, Georgia
 Anastasiya Komar, LSU
 Ayana Akli, South Carolina
 Sarah Hamner, South Carolina
 Daria Kuczer, Tennessee
 Rebeka Mertena, Tennessee
 Elza Tomase, Tennessee
 Carson Branstine, Texas A&M
 Mary Stoiana, Texas A&M
 Celia Belle Mohr, Vanderbilt
Second Team All-SEC
 Loudmilla Bencheikh, Alabama
 Carolina Gomez Alonso, Arkansas
 Ariana Arseneault, Auburn
 Carly Briggs, Florida
 Alicia Dudeney, Florida
 Meg Kowalski, Georgia
 Mell Reasco, Georgia
 Florencia Urrutia, Kentucky
 Kylie Collins, LSU
 Ludmila Kareisova, Ole Miss
 Emmanouela Antonaki, Mississippi State
 Salma Ewing, Texas A&M
 Mia Kupres, Texas A&M
 Jayci Goldsmith, Texas A&M
 Carolina Gomez Alonso, Arkansas
 DJ Bennett, Auburn
 Rachel Gailis, Florida
 Anastasiia Lopata, Georgia
 Mia Kupres, Texas A&M
 Bridget Stammel, Vanderbilt
Player of the Year
 Mary Stoiana, Texas A&M
Freshman of the Year
 Carolina Gomez Alonso, Arkansas
Co-Coaches of the Year
 Alison Ojeda, Tennessee
 Mark Weaver, Texas A&M