The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Arkansas sweeps SEC Indoor Track & Field titles

275 days ago
SEC Staff

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. -- The top-ranked Arkansas men's track and field team and the No. 2-ranked Arkansas women's track and field team claimed the 2023 Southeastern Conference Indoor Track and Field Championships Saturday at the Lance Harter Track at the Randal Tyson Track Center.

This marks the fourth consecutive year the Razorback men's and women's teams have swept the SEC indoor titles.

The SEC indoor championship is the 26th all-time for the Arkansas men - more than any other program - and fourth in a row. Arkansas scored 100.25 points to take home the title, while Florida was second with 73 points, followed by Alabama (63), Georgia (59), Tennessee (54), Ole Miss (50.25), Kentucky (48), LSU (47), Auburn (43.25), Texas A&M (42), South Carolina (33), Mississippi State (31) and Missouri (11.25).

The Arkansas women won their 13th all-time SEC Indoor Championship and ninth in a row by scoring 120.5 team points. Florida was second with 84 points, followed by Tennessee (56.33), Alabama (54), Ole Miss (54), Georgia (53), Kentucky (51.33), LSU (47), Vanderbilt (32), Texas A&M (26.5), South Carolina (26), Auburn (17.33), Missouri (14) and Mississippi State (10).

Florida's Jacory Patterson won the men's Cliff Harper Trophy, awarded to the high-points scorer at the SEC Indoor Championships, with 18 points, while Arkansas' Lauren Gregory won the women's Cliff Harper Trophy with 21.50 points.

Individual champions

Individuals who won SEC titles on Saturday include: Texas A&M's Ushan Perera in the men's high jump (2.24m/7-4.25), Texas A&M's Lamara Distin in the women's high jump (1.95m/6-4.75), South Carolina's Anass Essayi in the men's mile (4:01.20), Arkansas' Lauren Gregory in the women's mile (4:31.96), Auburn's Favour Ashe in the men's 60m (6.52), Tennessee's Jacious Sears in the women's 60m (7.11), LSU's John Meyer in the men's shot put (20.37m/66-10), Georgia's Elija Godwin in the men's 400m (44.75), Florida's Talitha Diggs in the women's 400m, Georgia's Will Sumner in the men's 800m (1:48.28), LSU's Michaela Rose in the women's 800m (2:01.09), South Carolina's Filip Demsar in the men's 60m hurdles (7.71), Kentucky's Masai Russell in the women's 60m hurdles (7.77), Florida's Jacory Patterson in the men's 200m (20.29), Florida's Jasmine Moore in the women's triple jump (14.09m/46-2.75), LSU's Favour Ofili in the women's 200m (22.52), Tennessee's Dylan Jacobs in the men's 3000m (7:52.49), Florida's Alida Van Daalen in the women's shot put (18.66m/61-2.75), Arkansas' Jaydon Hibbert in the men's triple jump (17.10m/56-1.25) and Arkansas' Lauren Gregory in the women's 3000m (9:09.90).

Alabama won the men's 4x400 relay in 3:01.78, while Arkansas claimed the women's 4x400 relay in 3:27.57.

Friday's winners were: Kentucky's Keaton Daniel in the men's pole vault (5.40m/17-8.5), Alabama's Bobby Colantonio in the men's weight throw (23.71m/77-9.5), Arkansas' Amanda Fassold in the women's pole vault (4.36m/14-3.5), Mississippi State's Cameron Crump in the men's long jump (8.39m/27-6.5), Florida's Jasmine Moore in the women's long jump (6.91m/22-8), Ole Miss' Jalani Davis in the women's weight throw (24.63m/80-9.75), Alabama's Victor Kiprop in the men's 5000m (14:08.19) and Alabama's Mercy Chelangat in the women's 5000m (15:44.48). Distance medley winners were the Tennessee men (9:32.75) and the Alabama women (11:04.99).

Pentathlon, Heptathlon Results

Kentucky's Annika Williams claimed the women's pentathlon with 4,346 points on Friday. Vanderbilt's Beatrice Juskeviciute was second followed by Sterling Lester of Florida in third. Arkansas' Ayden Owens-Delerme won the men's heptathlon with 6,237 points. Georgia's Johannes Erm was second, and Mississippi State's Peyton Bair was third.

Records broken

A number of records were broken on day two of the SEC Championships. Texas A&M's Lamara Distin broke the SEC Championship record in the women's high jump with a mark of 1.95m/6-4.75, Georgia's Elija Godwin broke a 12-year old meet record in the men's 400m (44.75). Florida's Talitha Diggs set a collegiate record in the women's 400m (50.15). Dylan Jacobs of Tennessee set the meet record in the men's 3000m with a time of 7:52.49. The Alabama men's 4x400 relay team set a meet record with a time of 3:01.78.

Replay on the SEC Network

The SEC Network will air a highlight show of the 2023 SEC Indoor Track & Field Championships Sunday, Feb. 26 at 8 p.m. ET.